Iganga comprises of one county of Kigulu and Iganga Municipality. There are three constituencies of Kigulu South, Kigulu North and Iganga Municipality. The former Iganga Town Council is now a Municipality though the boundaries of the Municipality remain the same but the Local government is now divided into two Divisions. They are Central and North Divisions. Sub counties


There are eight Sub Counties and two urban local governments in Iganga district. Kigulu South has Bulamagi, Nawaningi, Nakalama and Nakigo. Kigulu North has Nawandala, Nabitende, Nambale and Namungalwe.

Land Size

1,046.75 sq km1,046.75 sq km

Population Census







Mean Annual Rainfall Peaks;

March to May

1200 mm

October to November

900 mm


Savannah & Equatorial Trees species , Semi – Deciduous forests

Road Network


200 km

Weather Roads

300 km

Water Coverage

National Water & Sewerage Corporation in Urban Centers and Deep Boreholes in Rural areas.

Power Supplies(Umeme)

180 Mg Kwts

Tribes mixed/ languages

Lusoga, Luganda,English,and Swahili

The District accommodates all tribes in Uganda, and the usual common languages being Lusoga, Luganda, English and Swahili .The bulk of the population belongs to Basoga, characterized by choice of their own religious affiliations, i.e. Protestants, Muslims, Catholics, Faith based and Traditional Cultural beliefs. The Traditional Foods being mainly potatoes, Cassava, Matooke, Rice and Maize flour, the people are very hospitable.