About Iganga District
Iganga comprises of two counties of Kigulu and Bugweri. There are four constituencies of Bugweri, Kigulu South, Kigulu North and Iganga Municipality. The former Iganga Town Council is now a Municipality though the boundaries of the Municipality remain the same but the Local government is now divided into two Divisions. They are Central and North Divisions. Sub counties

There are 13 Sub Counties and two urban local governments in Iganga district:Bugweri County: Ibulanku , Makuutu, Namalemba, Buyanga and Igombe. Kigulu South: Bulamagi, Nawaningi, Nakalama and Nakigo Kigulu North: Nawandala, Nabitende, Nambale and Namungalwe Urban Local Governments: Iganga Municipality and Busembatya Town Council
Map of Iganga District
Demographic Aspect
Land Size 1,046.75 sq km1,046.75 sq km
Population Census
Rural 436,736
Urban 68,669
Total 505,405
Mean Annual Rainfall Peaks;
March to May 1200 mm
October to November 900 mm
Vegetation Savannah & Equatorial Trees species , Semi – Deciduous forests
Road Network
Tarmac 200 km
Weather Roads 300 km
Water Coverage National Water & Sewerage Corporation in Urban Centers and Deep Boreholes in Rural areas.
Power Supplies(Umeme) 180 Mg Kwts
Tribes mixed/ languages Lusoga, Luganda,English,and Swahili
The District accommodates all tribes in Uganda, and the usual common languages being Lusoga, Luganda, English and Swahili .The bulk of the population belongs to Basoga, characterized by choice of their own religious affiliations, i.e. Protestants, Muslims, Catholics, Faith based and Traditional Cultural beliefs. The Traditional Foods being mainly potatoes, Cassava, Matooke, Rice and Maize flour, the people are very hospitable.
Size and Topography/Land area
The District is 1, 046.7Sq. Km. Most of which is land. The land surface is characterized by gentle undulating hills with a few higher residual features. A narrow and generally higher accentuated relief to the south, forms a watershed between Lake Victoria drainage and the northern drainage.
The district has a mean annual rainfall of 1200 mm in the western south and 900 mm in the drier North- west. Within the wetter south precipitation varies between 1000mm and 1200mm, with peaks in March to May and October to November.
The District has tropical climate. There are two relatively drier seasons between December to March and another one from June to July. There is enough rainfall throughout the year to sustain man and animals except in very rare circumstances that sometimes lead to drought especially in the cattle corridor.

Maximum daily temperature of 23 degrees Celsius in January to a minimum daily temperature of 27 degrees Celsius in July. The central parts of the district (especially Kigulu) receive between 1,020 mm and 1,300 mm of rainfall per year. The North West is relatively wetter with an average of 1,450 mm per year

In general, there are two peak rainfalls, thus from April to June and from August to November. The two are punctuated by a dry season from December to March.
The pattern is also complicated by unpredicted rainfall failures in the peak months and heavy rains with hail stones in the dry months. Therefore, although the amount of rains is adequate for the growth of a variety of crops the weather is far from being predictable.
The vegetation of Iganga District has adversely been affected by Rapid population growth with its attendant problems of deforestation, environmental degradation, pollution etc. For areas in the North, the vegetation is Savannah and the south and South East, it's Semi deciduous forest.
Common grasses such as pennisetum purporeus and Hyporulemia rafa occupy expanse areas while the lower lands are permeable wet lands and marshes